Emergent patterns in nature and society

Videos: Social Media Revolution – David Report

On my regular morning reading, today was the turn of David Report. I’ve been following the work of this swedish designer for a couple of years, since it captured my attention with a study about fashion and consumption. Thanks to his report, I know that the average person only use 20% of her wardrobe, the rest are death clothes waiting to be used by someone else. It fascinates me, it inspires me to study consumption patterns. I’d like to link the clothes on my wardrobe with area of cotton plantations needed to fill it; and create a map of global fluxes of fashion trends, a network. Another model on my to-do list.

Today, David Carlson captures my attention with two videos.  More often than one expects by chance I find myself asking: Is this another regime shift? Well, the video on Social Media Revolution was another of those moments:

Lately I’ve been thinking on how such hyperconnectivity shapes our perception of the world. It blurs the line of reality. Everything flows faster, for good and for bad: ideas, diseases, trends. It’s both danger and opportunity. Isn’t it scary the fact that there is 80 million brains spending their time on Farmville while 1.5 million are feeding them. I wonder how many brains are actually thinking on the challenges humans are facing to increase food production, alleviate poverty and keep the planet -I mean the real one- on a functional mode.

For those interested in hyperconnectivity and how networks shape our lifes, well I recommend Connected, a book I recently finished. Without math or any other tools but nice prose, its authors, James Fowler and Nicholas Christakis, nicely compile an introduction for the general reader about social networks research, its latest discoveries and challenges for future thinkers on the field.

Back to Carlson, who describes himself to have ” a deep dedication to the conservation of nature”, also have this own concerns about the planet and how we communicate such challenges. He also wrote a note on another video, this time about sustainability.

The Natural Step is a non-profit environmental education organization working to build an ecologically and economically sustainable society. They have recently made a nice two minutes cartoon explaining what sustainability is according to The Natural Step framework. The cartoon is a good way to start the sustainability journey for any individual or organization to get basic understanding of how to contribute to a better and more sustainable future.

Leave a Reply

